Of Mind-blowing German Writers

I really do ought to post more often; but it’s so easy to get distracted by the myriad entertainments so freely available.

… like I just did for the past two hours.

And, it’s equally easy to write mindless drivel and weakly try to pass it off as worth reading. Here’s to unwasted efforts and good writing then.

I’ve told myself that life has its ups and its downs, and I even believe it once in a while. When I’m not brooding and dealing with that blob of discontent and disappointment in some other equally self-destructive way, it evaporates clean out of existence. And I know, that no matter how surely it’ll certainly come back, it’ll as surely become less bitter over time; a missed opportunity that grows less significant, a denial that becomes less painful, a loss that seems smaller each time.

So, why wallow? Why is it no comfort for the here and now that I know it isn’t the end of the world? That it means so little, not just in the grand scheme of things but in the scheme of my life; yet, it still stings like the deepest of cuts you know will heal just fine. Am I afraid of missing out on that one good thing? Am I desperate, in my hunger for glory? Goes to show how little I live out a “faith that is sure of what it hopes for, certain of what it does not see”. Why else would a man live for glory now, but that he is uncertain of future glory.

And then Nietzsche and his Master-Slave-Morality pops up in the mind. In short, the world used to live by the rule of force. The strong were good, the weak were bad (but not evil). The weak, tired of oppression, changed the meanings. And so, to be good came to mean to be self-sacrificing, to protect the weak, to relinquish self. According to Nietzsche, “common good” is self-contradictory. The Jews were to first to lead the Slave revolt towards such contradiction, by sacrifice of Jesus they turned the world to His teachings of sacrifice and self-denial: the selfsame slave morality, in that the weak may be considered good.

The question then, is this: Do you subscribe to Nietzsche’s take on history and etymology? What do you a believe a Man would volunteer his life as sacrifice for; to turn the world to a slave morality which exalts weakness, or to absolve all men of guilt and bring them to security and cover their weakness? I’d say the second one seems to be far more worth it.

But above that, there is faith, a kind that I hope for. Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.  (Heb 11:1, NIV).  As for things that I do not get, chances I don’t get to take; whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me and for the gospel will save it. 36What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul? (Mark 8:35,36, NIV). I want to seek to gain my life and my soul, to have the faith to see that the things to gain in this world don’t matter as much as I think they do.

Leave a Reply

